Let’s Go on an Adventure!

Like a lot of us, I thought long and hard about what to do for my ILP. I have a hard time focusing for long periods of time so I knew anything that required sitting still way out of the question.  Plus, it’s summer and I wanna go on adventures! I grew up in Rapid City, SD and ever since I was sixteen I have had a job involving tourists. Anyone who is on vacation likes to talk about and ask questions about where to go next. Despite living here all my life, there are many places I have never been or visited so long ago I can’t remember what they were like. I decided to take this opportunity to play a tourist in my own home.

I am excited to learn more about the places I usually just drive by, explore the things I have only seen pictures of and immerse myself more into the culture of the Hills. As of right now my list includes:

The Badlands ( last visited on a middle school field trip), Wall Drug (went there when I was little, that’s all I know)

Independence Hall (new attraction, excited to see)

Ride the trolley through Rapid City  and listen to facts of town (this looks like fun in general)

Find the map marking all the presidents’ locations downtown and find them all

Visit Storybook Island (this one is a little lenient cause I went there about once a week growing up and remember it quite well but this time I will go in with the mindset of a tourist seeing it for the first time.)

Walk the trail dedicated to the 1972 flood and learn more about the event that took the town by storm

I plan on spending my four hours a week adventuring and recording it all with cheesy selfies and poses featuring me and my siblings.  I am excited to learn about all the secrets the place I have always called home is keeping from me!

4 thoughts on “Let’s Go on an Adventure!

  1. grentzdanielle says:

    I love this idea. I think so many times we get wrapped up in our busy schedules that we forget to appreciate the beauty and adventures that are right outside of our own doors. I think you will have so much fun doing this and I hope you share all of your “cheesy selfies” with us!

    Like

  2. kaitlinborm says:

    This is such a fun idea and an awesome way to make the most of this class and summer break! There is a little bit of history here in Cheyenne where I live that you are inspiring me to check out if I get a chance! I look forward to following your journey through the Historic Rapid City Area! Also, I like that you chose some of the lesser known attractions for your project. Happy adventuring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

