Logged In & Checked Out

This week was not the first time I have paid attention to my own lack of attention. Up until about a year ago, I had a phone that still slid back and forth complete with a physical keyboard and no front camera. Not being connected to the whole world at my fingertips often left me alone in a room full of people. Eating with my friends in the caf turned into me watching them watch their phones and when we watched movies, I was the only one really watching. So on that glorious day last August when I walked out of Verizon with the dumbest of smart phones, I promised myself I would not become void in just to exist in some virtual world.

8709514984_33d7ac2b9c_z
photo by David Vespoli CC

As I began to keep my ‘attention journal’, I learned I spend time on my phone mostly at night before bed. This is both good and bad. Good because that means I am not blocking anyone out to scroll through posed pictures and cliche captions, but so many studies say this is horrible for almost every aspect of our health, so that’s not too good. My ‘physical space’ is a twin sized bed that acts as the bottom half of a bunk bed and my device is my Samsung phone. I usually spend about a half hour catching up on social medias for the day and reading articles I found interesting. Often times I would pick up a book after I put my phone down, so, to me, it was just another piece of bedtime literature. I didn’t really see any working or not working, I think I just become more conscious of the time I was spending online (while my books looked at me with pleading eyes).

Like everything we’ve learned in this class, we have to take our lessons and pass them down to our students. This one may be a bit more challenging than others because it may not be directly applied in today’s classrooms. As education evolves with technology, teachers will be able to instruct students technological manners. This may be the most important lesson I learned from this assignment.

4 thoughts on “Logged In & Checked Out

  1. I tend to spend a lot of time on my phone before bed, too! I just find it to be a really great way to unwind from the day and catch up on what I missed. I have heard that it’s not the best for health though. I found the attention journal to be really interesting, but as much as I love technology, I also love a book. 😉 Great post!

    Like

  2. I really liked the way you used the phrase, “The dumbest of smart phones.” Very nice. I’m an insomniac and I spend a great deal of time when I go to sleep, like you, messing around on my phone. I don’t have the recourse of reading a book before bed because I can’t have the light on with my husband next to me. My husband falls asleep in less than 5 minutes – every single night. It’s annoying. I think one of the things I want to try is going to bed, not using my phone, and if I can’t fall asleep in under 40 minutes – getting back up and starting on a small cleaning project in the kitchen or living room. Then coming back to bed and trying to sleep for another 40 minutes. I think it will be far more productive and I’ll probably sleep better.

    Like

    1. That’s a great idea! I’m like you and i take FOREVER to fall asleep so I might give your method a whirl. Whenever I move into a room a lamp by my bed is a requirement! Have a great rest of your summer Stef!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

