It’s Monday! What are you reading?: Week Seven

This week I read the first part of Mrs. Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and the entirety of Me, Earl and the Dying Girl. My book club is reading Mrs. Peregrine’s Home this week and so far I am having a little trouble getting into. The dark, fantasy-like story line is outside of my comfort zone for sure. The deep family ties holding the plot down are probably what is keeping a hold of me. Well, that and my group members, they would appreciate if I read the book all the way through.

Me, Earl and the Dying Girl was also a dark story, but in a completely different way. The main character, Greg, is your typical misfit. He’s not really especially weird, outstandingly awkward or noticeably there. He’s just… there. His best friend is an outspoken kid from a poor neighborhood and a disconnected family. Unlike Greg, Earl makes his presme-earl-dying-girlence known and doesn’t hold much back. Together, the two of them make movies. This is really the only thing the unlikely pair has in common. Their movies are just two kids running around with a video camera and a loose plot jotted down on a script. At one point Greg’s mom guilts him into reconnecting with a part-time childhood friend, Rachel, after it is discovered she has a form of Leukemia. After the three friends get to know each other, the boys decide to make a video for Rachel. The problem is, the video is collection of their classmates’ grievances and get-well wishes. These classmates didn’t say thing nice, or really anything at all, to Rachel while she was a student. Now that she’s hospitalized, hearing her peers say sappy sweet things to a lens when they wouldn’t even look at her in person doesn’t fend well. In the end, Rachel dies and Earl ends up furious at Greg. I know, that is super vague and disappointing, but I am going to let you read the book for yourself to find out what emotions create this compelling story.

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you reading?: Week Seven

  1. Shannon Schneider says:

    I’ve heard quite a bit about this book; it’s one of my best friend’s favorites, which is odd, because she’s normally into paranormal/mystery. I don’t know why, but I REALLY like the cover. It’s super dry humor at its best, and every time I see it I giggle (just because of the cover, not because it’s about a dying girl…duh). I’m gonna check it out though!

    Like

  2. rmaydowling says:

    I’m still trying to get into Miss Peregrine’s Home for Children. I agree the dark story line is a little out there for me, and I think that makes it a bit more difficult to read.

    Like

  3. pilotpoetphysic says:

    I wanted to love “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl”, really I did. I just felt like not a lot happened. I wanted more from the story. I guess I was kind of hoping for another “The Fault in Our Stars”, so no wonder I was grossly disappointed.

    I did enjoy reading your review though! 🙂

    Like

  4. kzlovesreading says:

    I really enjoyed the Mrs. Peregrines book series. I am even reading it again just for fun. There was something about that really attracted me to the books. I love the pictures and the time period, it’s so interesting how he goes back. I have seen Me, Earl and the Dying Girl, it was a good movie, but I usually prefer to read the books before I watch the movie.

    Like

    • MaryAnneJ says:

      The pictures in Miss Peregrine creeped me out! I honestly haven’t even looked at them all. I was wondering how Me, Earl and the Dying Girl the movie was, maybe I’ll have to check it out!

      Like

Leave a comment